Skip to content

Brian Edward Millett

Where all things beautiful collide

What did I love this week?  Well, it was an interesting one that involved moving within a few day’s notice, so my thoughts were more occupied with the logistical and less of the stylish ones.  Here is what made the cut.

Venini vase

1.  I have loved Venini glass forever, the old and the new, and this style is among the prettiest.  The amethyst color is especially lovely.  This glass work will be among the objects I will have around me on a daily basis.

a box of many colors

2.  I am loving colorful accessories for the home, and bright additions to the wardrobe like multi-color clutches.  We could all use a dash of color in our lives right now.  Bring on spring!!

dress by Alexander McQueen

3.  I know it’s still a couple of months away, but I am looking forward to the upcoming Costume Institute Gala recognizing the brilliant work of Alexander McQueen. 

fashion stars at the Met Gala

Vogue editor-in chief Anna Wintour with Tom Ford, Nicole Kidman, and Adrien Brody all in Gucci by Mr. Ford at the Goddess Gala in 2003.

the “Goddess Gala”

My favorite Costume Institute Met Gala designed by Robert Isabell with 4,000 peonies, flowering branches and tons of white.  Dorothy Draper-designed chandeliers hang above.  Love it all!

the late Robert Isabell

4.  Remembering the exuberant event planner Robert Isabell:   He was the brains behind my favorite and most inspiring event, the Goddess Gala at the Met in 2003, as well as many other stunning parties.

X-bench by Billy Baldwin

5.  I’ve been thinking a lot about decorator Billy Baldwin lately.  His huge talent and the beautiful spaces he designed are always in the back of my mind, of course, but sometimes they make their way up to the front offering a wealth of inspiration.  His rooms and furniture designs are still so relevant today.  Check out www.1stdibs.com for vintage Baldwin furniture.

the new book

Pick this up!  www.rizzoli.com

room by Billy Baldwin

The lacquered walls, brass etegeres, raffia wrapped table, and slipper chairs…seriously can it get any more chic?!

tusk table by Bill Sofield

6.  My next Interior InspirationI’ve had a project in my head for a couple of years now.  A modern english country house featuring these tusk tables in obsidian and white.  This house will be my next to feature in my blog series Interior Inspirations.  A sneak peak…the living room has chalky white plaster walls and ceiling, a opulant marble fireplace, black and brass Billy Baldwin etegeres,  pale blue english arm sofas, creamy damask upholstered chairs with long fringe, and the tusk tables in white as cocktail tables, all on a brown and black David Hick’s rugIt’s all in my head!!

Seattle library by Rem Koolhaas

7.  Taking a risk and moving to a new city!

8.  Exploring my new city.

9.  Enjoying the significant architecture in my new home.  Frank Gehry has contributed to the city, as well as Rem Koolhaas (above).

10.  Rekindling old friendships.

