Skip to content

Brian Edward Millett

Where all things beautiful collide

Just when I thought I was done sharing collections from spring 2011, I realized I hadn’t yet shown my picks from the Dries van Noten show.  He has become one of my fave 10 after all!  I see so many of these pieces being worn throughout the remaining spring months and into summer without a problem.

Dries van Noten

I just do not get sick of an oversized jacket that appears to be borrowed from a gentleman friend, but has just enough tailoring for a woman.  Roll those sleeves up girls!  A feminine shoe seals the deal that this is in fact a look for women.  Shall we call it a tuxedo dress?

Dries van Noten
Dries van Noten

These two metallic silver pieces, one a cropped jacket and the other a long coat, were among my favorites.  Imagine the white pants swapped out for dark trouser jeans…fantastic!

Dries van Noten

Slouchy, wide legged jeans and a tailored jacket over a tee is a recipe for daytime perfection.

Dries van Noten

A white peasanty blouse gets a tiny dipping of blue at the sleeve.  Van Noten loves to style with belts, as do I.

Dries van Noten
Dries van Noten
Dries van Noten

Dries didn’t shy away from more expected spring colors and floral prints, but they were interpreted as only he could.  Love! 

Dries van Noten

Just a subtle ombre effect takes a perfectly nice jacket to another place.

Dries van Noten

This skirt looks like a shirt casually tied around the waist, but the concept has been executed in a very chic way.

Dries van Noten
Dries van Noten
Dries van Noten

The addition of sparkle and metallic was a lovely thing to see, even for day looks.

Dries van Noten
Dries van Noten
Dries van Noten

Pastels are still exciting for spring when combined in such subtle combinations.  Pale blues, yellow, lilac, and mauve…just a few of my favorite shades.

Dries van Noten

This embroidered jacket would be in my closet without doubt, if…well you know.  The pants look as if they are denim that has been dipped almost completely in bleach.  Very cool!

Dries van Noten

So good to see Karolina Kurkova on the runway again, looking as amazing as ever!

Dries van Noten
Dries van Noten
Dries van Noten

More metallic amazingness!!  www.driesvannoten.be

