Skip to content

Brian Edward Millett

Where all things beautiful collide

Fashion never stops and takes a break, as one “fashion week” or season concludes, it’s on to the next!  Case in point, the current men’s spring 2014 shows, this week  in Milan after a week of shows in London, starting basically right as the women’s resort 2014 presentations concluded (almost all).  I know I talk mostly about womenswear, but I’m a guy, so I of course like to dress well and see what’s happening each season.  Menswear is honestly just not as exciting, but still fun to see!  I have found my new(ish) favorite men’s designer as of yesterday, although he’s been on my radar.  Neil Barrett put out a collection that I wish I literally owned every piece from!  Cool black and white check and plaid looks, with shorts, great bomber jackets, and modern pull-overs and shirts, all shown with great shoes, and polished hair like I try to have on a good hair day.  His collection also sparked some other thoughts besides “how can I afford all of this!”  I instantly thought of my favorite womenswear designer, Stella McCartney’s beautiful spring 2013 show.  Bold color-blocked looks in black and white, and the way she cut the fabric to join one pattern or tone to another, seemed as if it came from the same place as Barrett’s designs for men.  Maybe I’m crazy, but I may have found fashion soul mates, well at least for the spring season, just a year apart.  Stella and Neil did however also show baseball caps in their fall 2013 collections.  Coincidence, I think…I’ll keep watching!

Stella McCartney spring 2013

Stella McCartney spring 2013

Neil Barrett spring 2014

Neil Barrett spring 2014

Stella McCartney spring 2013

Stella McCartney spring 2013

Neil Barrett spring 2014

Neil Barrett spring 2014

Stella McCartney spring 2013

Stella McCartney spring 2013

Neil Barrett spring 2014

Neil Barrett spring 2014

Stella McCartney spring 2013

Stella McCartney spring 2013

Neil Barrett spring 2014

Neil Barrett spring 2014

Stella McCartney spring 2013

Stella McCartney spring 2013

Neil Barrett spring 2014

Neil Barrett spring 2014

Stella McCartney spring 2013

Stella McCartney spring 2013

Neil Barrett spring 2014

Neil Barrett spring 2014

Stella McCartney

Stella McCartney

Neil Barrett spring 2014

Neil Barrett spring 2014

Stella McCartney

Anne Hathaway in Stella McCartney

Neil Barrett spring 2014

Neil Barrett spring 2014

Tags: , , , ,

