Skip to content

Brian Edward Millett

Where all things beautiful collide

I have to be honest, the fact that I’m writing about plaid, even if it is a fall staple, is quite shocking to me.  I wear checks and gingham all the time, and love them in interiors too, but plaid on the other hand has never been a favorite, until now.  The only exception I can think of is the Saville Row suits worn by the likes of the Duke of Windor, and modern ones by Tom Ford in windowpane plaids.  I blame it on Phoebe Philo and Stella McCartney for the craze for it in womenswear for fall!  Those girls could make me fall in love with just about anything, even furry “Birkenstock-like” shoes!!  These plaids aren’t your ordinary woodsman flannel plaids, they are far more feminine and luxe.  I love how two different sized patterns have been used at Céline, and how it’s on the bias at Nina Ricci and Valentino.  Plaid is a little trickier for me to covet for the home though, although my go-to Jeffrey Bilhuber of course made it work as a rug option, while Jean Louis Deniot covered walls in it.  I’m definitely more on the side of the clean and demure looks at Céline and Stella, but I also fell for the edgier pieces at Fausto Puglisi.  Taken apart, his separates could live nicely next to the modern clothes I’d have on my dream shop’s racks.  What are you mad for?  Perhaps you’ll add plaid to your fall list!

Céline fall 2013

Céline fall 2013

Céline fall 2013

Céline fall 2013

Céline fall 2013

Céline fall 2013

Crate & Barrel

rug from Crate & Barrel

No. 21 fall 2013

No. 21 fall 2013

Stella McCartney fall 2013

Stella McCartney fall 2013

Stella McCartney fall 2013

Stella McCartney fall 2013

Jeffrey Bilhuber

Jeffrey Bilhuber

Jeffrey Bilhuber

Jeffrey Bilhuber

Nina Ricci fall 2013

Nina Ricci fall 2013

Valentino fall 2013 couture

Valentino fall 2013 couture

Valentino fall 2013 couture

Valentino fall 2013 couture

baskets from West Elm

baskets from West Elm

Dries van Noten fall 2013

Dries van Noten fall 2013

Jil Sander fall 2013

Jil Sander fall 2013

Sacai fall 2013

Sacai fall 2013

Jean Louis Deniot

Jean Louis Deniot

Fausto Puglisi fall 2013

Fausto Puglisi fall 2013

Fausto Puglisi fall 2013

Fausto Puglisi fall 2013

Fausto Puglisi fall 2013

Fausto Puglisi fall 2013

Fausto Puglisi fall 2013

Fausto Puglisi fall 2013

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

