Skip to content

Brian Edward Millett

Where all things beautiful collide

Thanksgiving is at its latest this year, November 28th, but it’s still a good idea to start thinking now about the perfect autumnal table!  In my annual series on setting the table for the season, this the first of a three-parter, I have plenty of ideas, inspiration, color palettes, and more to share.  I usually describe a very specific table and break it down by item, from the linens to the flowers.  This year I’m more about inspiration, although I do have some tables in mind in all their detail if you want to pick my brain.  I was inspired by one fabric in two colorways, one a blue and rust combination, the other a neutral made up of browns and greys.  Two very different and equally beautiful tables would stem from these pretty textiles.  I’m also loving dahlias and mums, whimsical dinnerware, humble linens, and a casual sweater and jeans look to wear to the day’s feast.   Here’s what’s inspiring me…what’s inspiring you?

a table at Martha's

a table at Martha Stewart’s home

Have fun with your dinnerware, whether it has a turkey on it or not, try going with something more playful than white, at least for a dessert plate.

an autumnal table

an autumnal table

flowers by Saipua

flowers by Saipua

Nest fragrance

Nest fragrance

a pumpkin arrangement by Eddie Ross

a pumpkin arrangement by Eddie Ross

corn husk votives

corn husk votives

Saipua

Saipua

I usually prefer one type of flower in an arrangement, but Saipua, and florists like Amy Merrick know how to mix blooms and textures perfectly!

flowers and leaves

flowers and leaves

an arrangement I created last year

an arrangement I created last year

plates by Michael Divine

plate by Michael Divine

a table setting at Martha's 'Skylands' home

a table setting at Martha’s ‘Skylands’ home

bowls from Wisteria

bowls from Wisteria

a favorite fabric

a favorite fabric

pretty bowls

pretty bowls

I’d use the smaller bowls, filled with half sea salt and half pepper, in between place settings.

Kerala  napkins

Kerala napkins

Cool patterned kitchen towels from places like West Elm Market are also a great option for napkins, and much more generous if you’re a little messier…

color crush

color crush

Gold flatware is my favorite for almost any table lately, even a more casual one.

Thanksgiving at Martha's East Hampton home

Thanksgiving at Martha’s East Hampton home

dinnerware by Alessandra Branca

dinnerware by Alessandra Branca

perfect pottery

perfect pottery

I would put just about any bloom in any shade in these pretty little vases.  Something in an unexpected peach, pink, or pale purple would be especially pretty!

textile inspiration

textile inspiration

Potter's Workshop dinnerware from West Elm

Potter’s Workshop dinnerware from West Elm

linens from Sferra

linens from Sferra

dinnerware by Alessandra Branca

dinnerware by chef
Ross Sveback

Faux bois and woodgrain anything is bound to be on my list every year!

wood clutch

wood clutch

What to wear…tonal autumnal tones, or color-blocked blues are my picks!

Pierre Hardy cuff

Pierre Hardy cuff

Hanelli Mustaparta in Stella McCartney

Hanneli Mustaparta in Stella McCartney

Stella McCartney sweatshirt

Stella McCartney sweatshirt

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

