Skip to content

Brian Edward Millett

Where all things beautiful collide

Is it only January?  I’m thrilled for the new year, don’t get me wrong, and haven’t had to deal with anything even close to resembling a “polar vortex” here in Seattle, but still I’m ready to run away to a warm place!  Any warm place will do really, as long as there is a pool and/or beach and plenty of iced beverages!  Palm Springs would be the closest for me to jet off to, although Jamaica or the Bahamas would be even more amazing!

What I need here in surprisingly bright and overcast Seattle, and even more if I were able to take time off work and jump on a plane, is a great pair of sunglasses!  I like mine slightly over sized, and in interesting materials like tortoise.  Warby Parker, a longtime favorite maker of eyeglasses and sunglasses, just launched a limited edition range called the Palm Canyon Collection, where they’ve updated some of their favorite frames (and yours) in a Palm Springs-inspired palette.  How perfect for my dream vacation to Palm Springs!

No two pair are the same because of how the glasses are crafted, and because of the unique materials used.  I especially love the ‘Wheeler’ in “windswept” (at right, below) for women, and for me the ‘Duckworth’ in “painted desert”.  The best part of a pair of WP glasses for my vacation is knowing that someone out there in need of eyeglasses will be given a pair with the purchase of my stylish frames!  How great is that?!

Hopefully you aren’t struggling too much right now with the cold, and are lucky enough to escape for a tropical treat soon.  May I make a suggestion?  Take along one of these super chic pair of shades wherever you go…even if that’s just down the street.  If you need more ideas on completing your sunny look, check out my last post on What to Wear NowTime to sun bathe!!

Warby Parker 'Wheeler'

Warby Parker ‘Wheeler’

The Saguaro in Palm Springs

The Saguaro in Palm Springs

I’ve mentioned that for 2014 I’m all about color.  It can’t get much brighter than this!

Slim Aarons

Slim Aarons

Babe Paley in Jamaica

Babe Paley in Jamaica

Style icon Babe Paley’s Jamaican home, now owned by Ralph Lauren, is my ultimate dream vacation home…sigh…And wouldn’t she look chic in a pair of Warby Parker sunglasses?

Warby Parker 'Winston'

Warby Parker ‘Winston’

Warby Parker 'Winston'

‘Winston’

a tropical getaway by Tom Scheerer

a tropical getaway by Tom Scheerer

Tom Scheerer

Tom Scheerer

Tom Scheerer

Tom Scheerer

A plethora of straw hats, flip-flops (I only allow these while actually on the beach), and great shade options are a must for any sunny vacation spot!

Warby Parker 'Preston'

Warby Parker ‘Preston’

Warby Parker 'Preston'

‘Preston’

Jean Louis Deniot

Jean Louis Deniot

Jacques Grange's escape in Portugal

Jacques Grange’s home in Portugal

Along with bold color for 2014, I’m also loving texture and a clarity sometimes only found in shades of white.  Yes, I’m slightly contradicting myself!

Hubert de Givenchy's retreat

Hubert de Givenchy’s retreat

Warby Parker 'Duckworth'

Warby Parker ‘Duckworth’

'Duckworth'

‘Duckworth’

Jean Royère

Jean Royère

If I could lounge around all day poolside, it would be ideally under a scalloped umbrella, and on a comfy chair or chaise lounge.  Where’s my drink?!

scalloped umbrellas

scalloped umbrellas

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

