Skip to content

Brian Edward Millett

Where all things beautiful collide

With the cold-weather and post holiday month known as January, comes exciting things, like spring product!  One of my favorite stores, and not just because I work for them, is West Elm.  There are so many great items that have debuted over the last few weeks!  The thing I love most about WE, other than the great affordable price-point, is that they are always very much on-trend, forward thinking, and have a perfect mix of modern and slightly more traditional pieces for a home that feels more realistic, and less “designed”.  Mid-century-inspired pieces are becoming a bigger buy for them for spring, as well as pieces with materials not typically common to WE, like crisp white marble, which I’m obsessed with!  They are also all about colors like grapefruit, and pool blue.  I know I could use a dash of color right now!  If you read my blog often, you know I love to talk about fashion and things for the home, and no matter the price-point, if it’s good design, I’ll talk about it here.  West Elm is great design!  Here are the pieces I’m coveting and drooling over for spring!

Ainslie sofa

Ainslie sofa

Furniture:  Classic tufting meets a mid-century leg for the perfect combination of modern and traditional.  I wouldn’t mind that cowhide rug either!

Leather + Fur Sling chair

Leather + Fur Sling chair

Marble Box-Frame coffee table

Marble Box-Frame coffee table

Factory Task lamp

Factory Task lamp

Lighting:  Industrial looking construction, meets of-the-moment brass and marble accents.

Clint Mini Task lamp

Clint Mini Task lamp

Riad wool rug

Riad wool rug

Rugs:  I love a good Moroccan-inspired or real Moroccan rug, and think I always will!

Steven Alan Papier-Mâché Side Table

Steven Alan Papier-Mâché side table

Great Collaborations:  This papier-mâché table by fashion designer Steven Alan for WE, made by Haitian artisans has the look of plaster, but is light and moveable.  Alan’s famous stripes find their way to the floor on fun dhurrie rugs as well.

Steven Alan rugs, bedding, pillows, and vases

Steven Alan rugs, bedding, pillows, and vases

Steven also designed striped pottery vases, pillow covers, and an assortment of bedding exclusively for West Elm.

Steven Alan Abstract Crewel pillow cover

Steven Alan Abstract Crewel pillow cover

Kisanii pillow cover

Kisanii pillow cover

Textiles:  I’m always drawn to painterly textiles, and love this bold yellow they’re calling plantain, with its strong and crisp brushstroke pattern.

Frayed Edge sheets

Frayed Edge sheets

My favorite Frayed-Edge sheets get some fun color additions, like bergamot, bamboo, and clearwater.  And as always, they’re organic!

Enamel bath accessories

Enamel bath accessories

Enamelware:  My favorite enamelware comes to the bathroom with this new collection.  An instant classic, because it is inspired by vintage pieces.  West Elm Market’s enamelware dinnerware (below) now comes in bold colors like blue, orange, and yellow

Enamelware bowls

Enamelware bowls

Chalk pots and succulents

Chalk pots and succulents

For the Garden:  Usually only available in the original chalkboard black, these chalk pots for indoors or out, now come in a springy palette, but still look great with writing in chalk naming the type of plant you’re waiting to grow.

Waterscape vases

Waterscape vases

Decorative Accessories:  Being the flower lover I am, I’m always looking for pretty vessels, and West Elm has some of the loveliest glass and pottery vases.  They’re also perfectly fine in a grouping on a mantle or table without flowers.

Modernist vases

Modernist vases

Agate knobs and handles

Agate knobs and handles

Hardware:  I will always obsess over anything with rock crystals or geodes, so the new hardware launch at WE is right up my alley!  A simple chest of drawers from the flea market never looked better with these added to it!

Agate knobs

Agate knobs

Eduardo Garza crystal box

Eduardo Garza crystal box

Objects:  Last, but not least, my friend Eduardo Garza, who makes some of the most amazing objects in the world, launched some pieces for West Elm for holiday 2013.  This spring they got in this soapstone and faux-crystal box, that was inspired by his work that typically involves 24-karat gold, and real gems like amethyst and quartz.  I want this on my coffee table with a stack of books and a big vase of blooms from the market!

Tags: , , , , , ,

