Skip to content

Brian Edward Millett

Where all things beautiful collide

I started this series last October after noticing that I would have random things stuck in my head that didn’t necessarily make sense as a post on their own, but all together told a story.  From fashion, to art, to pieces for the home, I always have a lot floating around in my brain.  Pinterest has been a great way to organize those thoughts, and I love looking back and seeing pins of things I totally forgot about, inspiring me all over again! Right now I’m loving abstract art like Cy Twombly (my favorite artist), painterly textiles and ceramics, still lifes, faux versions of things like flowers and vegetables, but created out of materials like copper and ceramic, pretty lighting, plaster, and more!  What’s inspiring you now?

Cy Twomly's Roman home, photographed by Horst, 1966

Cy Twomly’s Roman home, photographed by Horst, 1966

Morgan Herrin

Morgan Herrin

Construction grade lumber is transformed into a surreal take on classical sculpture.

www.morganherrin.com

Cy Twombly 'Nimphidia', 1981

Cy Twombly ‘Nimphidia’, 1981

'Sea' by Cy Twombly

‘Sea’ by Cy Twombly

Pierre Soulage

Pierre Soulage

Fredericks and Mae tassels

Fredericks and Mae tassels

I would style these amongst books and other decorative things on a coffee table.

www.fredericksandmae.com

Lourdes Sanchez watercolor

Lourdes Sanchez watercolor

Artist Lourdes Sanchez experiments with various mediums, but I particularly like her water colors.

www.lulisanchez.com

Elephant ceramics

Elephant ceramics

www.elephantceramics.com

Christopher Spitzmiller for John Rosselli

Christopher Spitzmiller for John Rosselli

www.johnrosselli.com

unknown

unknown

Christopher Spitzmiller

Christopher Spitzmiller

Always a favorite!

www.christopherspitzmiller.com

Chad Wys

Chad Wys

I love Wys’s witty take on classical art and objects.

www.chadwys.com

Paulette Tavormina

Paulette Tavormina

a modern still life

a modern still life

Amy Merrick flowers

Amy Merrick flowers

Even her home page is gorgeous!

www.amymerrick.com

color crush

a natural color crush

Giorgio Morandi

Giorgio Morandi

Natalie Page ceramic lamps from BDDW

Natalie Page ceramic lamps from BDDW

www.bddw.com

Vladimir Kanevsky

Vladimir Kanevsky

Clearly I’ve been obsessed with Kanevsky’s work over the last year or so.  My new obsession is the molds themselves that his beautiful pieces come out of.  I want them as objects for tables!

www.vladimircollection.com

Lettuceware

Lettuceware belonging to C.Z. Guest

The Grandma in me wants to collect things like Lettuceware, Majolica, and other curiosities of that sort.

toleware by Tommy Mitchell

toleware by Tommy Mitchell

Along with my love of Vladimir Kanevky’s flowers crafted from porcelain, are those made of metals like copper by Tommy Mitchell.  It’s a fresh take on classic Toleware.

www.tommymitchellcompany.com

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

