Skip to content

Brian Edward Millett

Where all things beautiful collide

I first want to start off, since this post is the beginning of a new start in a way, by saying thank you for all of your support of my creative musings over the past 3+ years!  I’ve been pondering a lot lately about the direction I want to take my blog (and myself), and I’ve been on a tiny hiatus because of that.  Well, I think I’ve figured things out (mostly), and I now return to you, not as The Man of Style, but as simply…me, Brian Edward Millett!  The new and improved me is really the same me, put with more clarity.  My posts going forward will be much more about what’s on my mind, what I love, and not as swayed by what might be going on elsewhere in fashion, design, or anywhere else.  I probably won’t talk trend reports, red carpet picks, and the such, but talk about what really makes ME tick.

This post, which is actually the first of a series of three, is just that, what I’m thinking about right now.  Whether others’ are talking about the same thing or not, that’s not what I’m aiming for as much anymore.  I want to tell the stories that the worlds of art, fashion, interiors, and architecture often share, and less about the ‘It’ bag, or color of the season.  I love and am truly inspired by that conversation, and those connective threads.  Inspiration has been something that has very recently come back to me after a long lull (it’s complicated), but I’m feeling it pulse through me maybe more than ever now!  What’s inspiring me now?  Well, silver and gold, white and neutrals, texture, pleats, Natalia Vodianova and Mario Testino (their photo shoot together for Vogue in March 2007 is a favorite of mine!), Morocco and Santa Fe, Altuzarra, and Proenza Schouler are, just to name a few.  I want the images I share to tell the story almost on their own, but of course you’ll hear plenty of my voice.  There’s more where this came from.  Enjoy!

silver leaf ceiling

silver leaf ceiling

Proenza Schouler spring 2014

Proenza Schouler spring 2014

Bill Sofield table

Bill Sofield table

Proenza Schouler spring 2014

Proenza Schouler spring 2014

Anish Kapoor

Anish Kapoor

Altuzarra spring 2014

Altuzarra spring 2014

Donald Judd

Donald Judd

Altuzarra spring 2014

Altuzarra spring 2014

Hervé van der Straeten

Hervé van der Straeten

Altuzarra spring 2014

Altuzarra spring 2014

Francisco Costa's NYC home

Francisco Costa’s NYC home

Roberto Dutesco

Roberto Dutesco

Salma Hayek, Vogue, June 2005, by Mario Testino

Salma Hayek, Vogue, June 2005, by Mario Testino

Tom Ford's Santa Fe home

Tom Ford’s Santa Fe home

Tom Ford's Santa Fe home

Tom Ford’s Santa Fe home

Tom Ford's Santa Fe home

Tom Ford’s Santa Fe home

Tom Ford's Santa Fe home

Tom Ford’s Santa Fe home

Edie Campbell in Proenza Schouler, Vogue, March 2014

Edie Campbell in Proenza Schouler, Vogue, March 2014

Vogue, January 2014

Vogue, January 2014

Vogue, January 2014

Vogue, January 2014

Stephen Sills

Stephen Sills. Architectural Digest

Vogue, January 2014

Vogue, January 2014

Vogue, January 2014

Vogue, January 2014

Vogue, January 2014

Vogue, January 2014

pink and gold

pink and gold

Altuzarra spring 2014

Altuzarra spring 2014

Hervé van der Straeten

Hervé van der Straeten

Altuzarra spring 2014

Altuzarra spring 2014

Hervé van der Straeten

Hervé van der Straeten

Altuzarra spring 2014

Altuzarra spring 2014

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

