Skip to content

Brian Edward Millett

Where all things beautiful collide

Texture, texture, texture…I feel like that is almost all that’s on my mind these days!  Plaster walls, tassels and fringe, linen, and other nubby materials are all I want to be surrounded by.  A big part of that category that can’t be forgotten are natural products like wicker, rattan, caning, reed, sisal, jute, and other things that make up beautiful furniture, lighting, and rugs.  Heading into summer, these textural elements make all the more sense, as they hold up well to the weather and climate, which is why your Grandmother probably had wicker furniture on her porch.  There’s so much I’m in love with right now in this department, that I had to write two parts!  For outside, or in, I’m loving woven mats, rugs (probably my favorite way to incorporate natural fibers), and French rope furniture (see part II) so much, and a little can really go a long way, but the great thing about all these materials is that they mix so well together, like in nature, and because they are also neutral, you can add them to any room and color palette.  Here is just the beginning of my favorite natural pieces, and stay tuned tomorrow for even more goodness!

woven mats and poufs

woven mats and poufs

Ralph Lauren's Jamaican home

Ralph Lauren’s Jamaican home

I love the idea of these mats surrounding a minimalist pool, with white pillows and towels nearby in big woven baskets.  I would also find low glazed ceramic tables to place next to them to set a perfect summer drink.

Ralph Lauren Home 'Peyton' ottoman

Ralph Lauren Home ‘Peyton’ ottoman

I’ve been obsessed with this ottoman for well over a decade, and it still comes back to me when thinking about summer spaces!

Crate & Barrel Fiji side chair

Crate & Barrel Fiji side chair

I’ve always loved woven rope and rush chairs similar to these, and above in the space by Wanzenberg, and although that crafting technique has been around for ages, it feels so modern to me.

rugs from West Elm

rugs from West Elm

Many of this season’s natural fiber rugs have been elevated with metallic thread woven into the patterns, like styles at West Elm.

This mid-century space is kept warm, not by just the fire alone, but with a large sisal rug, and rattan ottoman.  These natural touches keep a modernist home from feeling stark.

Tom Scheerer

Tom Scheerer

Another rattan ottoman joins wood-paneled walls, and a wicker lamp.  Crisp white and blue feel so fresh in companionship with those elements.

A modern woven chandelier hangs from a reed covered ceiling, and sits over a clean lined outdoor table surrounded by round rattan chairs.  More bamboo in a diamond pattern covers a nearby mirror that creates an illusion of more space beyond.

baskets from Made Goods

baskets from Made Goods

These baskets would be amazing lined with moss and then planted with a large tree or topiary inside or out, or used for holding sports gear, shoes, or anything else that seems to always get out of control.

rattan settee

rattan settee

I would happily lounge here all summer, and yes I love that floral print, but I would do a neutral wide stripe with big pillows in a contrasting print at each end.

Tom Scheerer

Tom Scheerer

Tom Scheerer is the decorator of summer as far as I’m concerned.  Just look at his projects in Florida and the Bahamas, especially the Lyford Cay Club.

layered natural fiber rugs and paper wall art from West Elm

layered natural fiber rugs and paper wall art from West Elm

My parents used to have a peacock chair, and oh how I wish I had it now.  I love this one painted out white, but the natural color is great too, as seen above in Scheerer’s room.  This space from an old West Elm catalogue is so relaxing with its mix of textures and all white palette.

trays from Made Goods

trays from Made Goods

Simply adding a tray made of raffia to a coffee table inside or on an ottoman outside can be all you need to bring a taste of these materials to your surroundings.

Catskill wood and wicker chair and ottoman from West Elm

Catskill chair and ottoman from West Elm

This chair and ottoman is like an updated version of a classic Adirondack chair, but with a great mix of wicker and wood.

Hubert de Givenchy

Hubert de Givenchy

I’ve shown this covered outdoor space of design legend Givenchy before, but it’s too good not to share again in relation to today’s topic!  Can I just live here?  The chaise lounge below from Crate & Barrel would be perfect in replicating this look at your own home!

outdoor chaise lounge from Crate & Barrel

outdoor chaise lounge from Crate & Barrel

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

