Skip to content

Brian Edward Millett

Where all things beautiful collide

It was back in September of 2003 that my love of the work of interior designer Jeffrey Bilhuber blossomed into what has become quite possibly the greatest mentorship and growth in my education of design and decorating.  That was the month that the designer’s home on Nantucket, ‘Rose Cottage’, was published in Architectural Digest.  I don’t think I stopped looking at that issue for quite a few months, and had to scour all of the magazines in my possession (which was quite a few stacks) to find any missed projects by my new favorite decorator.  Moving forward, any project published of Bilhuber’s work would add more creative fuel to the fire, and also act as a lesson in design.  Although I went to school for interiors, I’ve found that so much more has been learned by following the work of designers like Jeffrey, and doing my own reading and research.  Finding out anything and everything about the furniture, antiques dealers, artists, and more that made up those breathtaking spaces.  I have learned countless things from the likes of Jeffrey Bilhuber.  Hopefully I can meet him someday, but if not, I’d like to say thank you to him by sharing again the home that really got the creative person in me to the place I’m at now.  This home (which Bilhuber no longer owns, having bought and renovated a historic home on Long Island) also feels especially appropriate right now just a few days after Memorial Day, and as we head into summer.  Enjoy it with me all over again!

Jeffrey Bilhuber's Nantucket home

Jeffrey Bilhuber’s Nantucket home ‘Rose Cottage’

Jeffrey Bilhuber

Jeffrey Bilhuber

Jeffrey Bilhuber

Jeffrey Bilhuber

Jeffrey Bilhuber

Jeffrey Bilhuber

Jeffrey Bilhuber

Jeffrey Bilhuber

Jeffrey Bilhuber

Jeffrey Bilhuber

Jeffrey Bilhuber

Jeffrey Bilhuber

Jeffrey Bilhuber

Jeffrey Bilhuber

 

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

