Skip to content

Brian Edward Millett

Where all things beautiful collide

Now that I’ve been flipping through the September issue of Vogue, and shopping home and clothing stores stocked with blankets and throws, and sweaters and coats, I’m really getting in the fall mood, my favorite of the four seasons!  I’ve been collecting images of things that have inspired me for quite a while, and I noticed a couple of themes, wood grain and marble, and in some cases, a mix of the two.  Some of these images I’ve shared before, like the Céline fall 2011 campaign featuring wood print clothing, but it was too perfect not to include again.  Speaking of faux, I’m also obsessed with marble both real and fake, as seen on dinnerware, and the fall Louis Vuitton men’s runway, but the real thing is what I dream of surrounding myself with in my perfect space, as well as using simple materials like plywood, with its interesting grain, in an elevated way on walls and floors (see Part I).  I’ll let the images speak for themselves more, but this is just the beginning of what I’m obsessed with for autumn!

Céline

Céline

Atelier AM

Atelier AM

Wood paneling and a wood block table join cool green and gold accents.

Céline

Céline

Remodelista

via Remodelista

Céline

Céline

mixed materials

mixed materials

Faux marble and wood meet and make for a very cool chair!

Stella McCartney resort 2015

Stella McCartney resort 2015

Acne Studios shop

Acne Studios shop

Steel, marble, concrete, and my favorite blushy mauve tones make for a powerfully pretty statement at Acne Studios shops.

Adidas by Stella McCartney sneaker

Adidas by Stella McCartney sneaker

Acne Studios shop

Acne Studios shop

Note the marbleized stool.

Francois Champsaur

Francois Champsaur

This room is everything to me right now, and that marble table is insane!

Ceasarstone

Ceasarstone art

Acne Studios shop

Acne Studios shop

Marble floors, walls, and ceilings keep things super cool, and I love the rosey perforated metal moving walls.

Stella McCartney resort 2015

Stella McCartney resort 2015

Stella borrowed a mix of materials she’s used for her clutches over the seasons for her resort 2015 accessories.

tabletop by Steven Gambrel

tabletop by Steven Gambrel

Marbleized paper has been around forever in stationary and books, and this table surface is a fun and modern way to use it in a patchwork pattern.

Louis Vuitton fall 2014

Louis Vuitton fall 2014

marbleized plates

marbleized plates

Rag & Bone fall 2014

Rag & Bone fall 2014

This sweater reminds me of a marble pattern in a perfect fall palette.

Calvin Klein Home

Calvin Klein Home bowls

Rag & Bone fall 2014

Rag & Bone fall 2014

Paint splattered pants lie somewhere between marble veining and woodgrain.

Martha Stewart

Martha Stewart

Martha’s dining room joins faux bois (false wood) painted cabinets with a real marble-topped long table.

Fashion images from style.com

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

