Skip to content

Brian Edward Millett

Where all things beautiful collide

It’s that time of year again…holiday season!  Every year I do this series of posts called “Setting the Table”, and it usually begins with Thanksgiving.  I did give a little bit of a glimpse into what I’m loving this season in “An Austere Autumn”, but this is my true post on decorating and entertaining for Turkey Day.  I’m pretty sure it’s been my theme before, but purple reigns supreme again for this year’s table.  I’m not really traditional in my decor for any holiday, i.e. white pumpkins instead of orange, and no red and green for Christmas.  With that said, beyond the color palette of dusty purples does lie a very appropriate fall table with natural elements galore, metallic accents, beautiful blooms, and gorgeous place settings.  I’ll walk you through what I’m thinking!

Lavender roses and other surprising blooms are a must on my table!

dinnerware from Anthropologie

dinnerware from Anthropologie

Martha Stewart Living

Martha Stewart Living

Get inspired for your table in the produce section, or at a local farmer’s market or farmstead.

Flowers and fruit will always be a favorite combination of mine for autumn!

linens from Anthropologie

linens from Anthropologie

1

fall blooms

Sometimes flowers out of their actual season, like the spring magnolias here, can  make them even more appropriate for a certain event or holiday!

dinnerware from Anthropologie

dinnerware from Anthropologie

tabletop items from Terrain

tabletop items from Terrain

Don’t be afraid to mix and match your tabletop items, with mixed metals, pattern, and color in abundance!

Frances Palmer

via Frances Palmer‘s Instagram

runner from Terrain

runner from Terrain

This would be a dream location for my Thanksgiving meal!

napkin from Terrain

napkin from Terrain

linens from Terrain

linens from Terrain

tabletop items from West Elm

tabletop items from West Elm

napkins from Anthropologie

napkins from Anthropologie

dinnerware from Anthropologie

dinnerware from Anthropologie

What to wear?  Think casual but tailored separates in a palette of greys and mauves to compliment the table’s color scheme.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

